Boudin Discussion Thread

Swine Spectator

is Blowin Smoke!
Name or Nickame
David
I didn't want to hijack Peeps awesome Cajun Fatty thread, so I started this one to continue the boudin discussion.

I have been making sausage for about 10 years. I think I'm pretty good at it. However, it has taken me years to even get close to making a good boudin. You see, with sausage, you need a decent meat/fat ratio and X amount of salt per pound, then season to taste. On the other hand, boudin is much trickier. The rice absorbs much of the liquid and seasoning and makes it much tougher to get right. I have a pretty decent recipe now, but I always load up whenever I get a chance to pass through Acadiana.

My personal favorite is Bubba Frey's at the Mowata Store. I also like Best Stop and Don's (Don's has the best Cracklin's IMHO). Poche's is pretty darn good and they have duck and alligator sausages as well.

Last week I stopped at Billy's is Scott, LA for the first time. I bought some of their smoked boudin. The texture and consistency were absolutely perfect, however, I think it would be too spicy for most folks (not me though).

In my experience, good boudin is virtually nonexistent east of Baton Rouge or West of Lake Charles, with the lone exception of Jerry Lee's in Greenwell Springs.

Anyway, I'd love to hear the thoughts of my fellow Louisiana Brethren or any of you who pass through.

David

Never had it. Would be interested to hear a little more about it.

I really enjoyed the Don's and Billy's that I have bought this year. I have a couple Don's stuffed chickens in my freezer I need to cook up. I think one is boudin stuffed and the other is crawfish etouffee stuffed.

Tasha brought back some boudin balls from The Big Store in Galveston last week and they are pretty good, but nothing even close to Billy's cheese stuffed boudin balls that I got in Opelousas the last couple times I passed through.