Turn in question

Smokin Ribs

is one Smokin' Farker
Has anyone turned in ribs in a competition that weren't sauced? I'm just not a fan of sauced ribs and thinking of turning in without.

No sauce, just salt & pepper?

If every contestant turns in unsauced meat, they all tie for first place.

Sauce wins tournaments.

I don't know if I would turn in something so different than the judges are accustomed to when it could affect your entire score, but during the "one meat" contests that are a part of several comps these days, I would absolutely give them something to pique their interest.

It's not the best meat that wins competitions, it's the meat the best meets the judges expectations. I've not heard of any competition where an unsauced meat won anything. But, I also don't follow the competition circuit.

I've been judging for 14 years and can count on one hand the number of non-sauced ribs I've seen in turn-in boxes. However, I do recall that 2 of the non-sauced rib entries scored very high. And speaking of sauces, I have only seen 1 mustard sauce on ribs.

Hey Wayne, Any recollection on how those sauce less ribs scored on appearance? I have always been of the opinion that if the appearance looks different than what the judges are used to seeing, appearance scores can be less than high than a "normal" looking entry would score. This lower appearance score can also make it difficult for the entry to score higher scores on taste/tendersness that it may or not deserve due to the mind set of the judges that are already influenced by the appearance score of the entry. As the old expression goes, we eat with our eyes first.

One bit of contest cooking advice I was given years ago was this. It is better to not offend any of the judges than it is to impress only four of the judges.

I have judged non-sauced meat of all four categories, not often but it happens.