Questions about baffle plate for offset smoker

JCBII

Knows what a fatty is.

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
JC
I have a New Braunfels smoker I’m trying to restore. I’d like to add a tuning/baffle plate to control the heat on this smoker and found a baffle by Lavalock that’s 14.5” (depth). The site selling this baffle suggests using a baffle plate that’s approximately 2” smaller in depth than the depth of the smoker at grill level. I measured the depth of the NB, and it’s 16” so this plate would be about right according to their recommendation. I made a mockup of the plate in cardboard to see how it fits. The picture below shows how it will sit in the smoker. Although you can’t really tell, the cardboard is coming up at a 45-degree angle where it contacts the smoker wall near the opening. Does this look like it sits a little too low in the smoker? Should I look for something maybe around 15” that would sit higher? I have ZERO experience with offset smokers, so any advice is appreciated.

Attachments

• NB_Baffle.jpg
    NB_Baffle.jpg
    74.9 KB · Views: 327
Looks like it is close enough to try. Surely this has been discussed around here. You might try searching for posts on this subject.

Thanks oldgfbbq, I think I'll go with the baffle from lavalock. And I do need to remember to use the search function. I've used it a lot for other topics, for forgot about it on this one.