Offset smoker build - advice apprecieated

blockhd

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Rok
Hello dear Brethren!

Not even a month after i finished my UDS build, i am already into new project - offset smoker build. Idea is to have a close copy of Franklin BBQ pit, but as i am completely new to this, i would like to share this project with you from beginning - R&D until the end - perfect brisket :pray::pray::pray:

So, main dimensions are like this:

Firebox - main body is double walled (front and rear are single wall)
Internal diameter - 17.5 inch
Lenght - 19.7 inch

Cooking chamber
Internal diameter - 19.5 inch
Lenght - 39.7 inch

Firebox to Cooking chamber openine
Half moonish - 45 sq inch surface area ( recommended 37.91)

Smoke collector
Height: 6 inch

Smoke stack
Diameter: 4 inches
Height 20 inch above smoke collector

Link to BBQ Pit Calculator

A few pics of 3D data.

tENWZ5p.png

cIPZUu8.png

Please let me know what you think and if you have anything at all that i should be wary of, please let me know.

I am not sure if Franklins pit has a baffle... What kind of baffle should i install? I will also install a shelf for water pan.

Thank you for the input!

Some quick suggestions:

* Larger firebox (for more flexibility in how you run your fire) with no lip on the door opening at the bottom so you can easily scrape/sweep out the ash; also be sure to include a "grease dam" in the design so grease can't flow from the cook chamber and into the firebox.

* Larger cook chamber (you may want to load it up; I have a 24" x 60" cook chamber and have appreciated the extra space).

* Go with a taller stack with a baffle/damper at the top for airflow control.

* Make the air intake adjustable; I like your concept of having the air openings down at fire level instead of higher.

* A grease drain with a ball valve is a handy feature.

Some quick suggestions: