Paint type for stick burner repair

Headgear

Full Fledged Farker

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
David
I recently bought my first stick burner. It was used and has just a small amount of rust starting on top of the firebox. I definitely want to paint it before
good weather goes south and I lose my opportunity for paint to dry.

I was told by one person to just use regular rattle can paint. I would think that some sort of high-temperature paint would be better but I have no experience. Does anyone know what would be best?

Attachments

• smoker.jpg
    smoker.jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 179
You can get high temp grill paint in a rattle can from any hardware store. Or you can use a high temp engine paint also in a rattle can.

I use Rustoleum High Temp paint that comes in a quart can to keep my Shirley Fab cooker looking like new. They spray it at the shop, but a brush or small roller is all you should need. They make a primer too that you may want to use after you remove any surface rust.

I use Rustoleum High Temp paint that comes in a quart can to keep my Shirley Fab cooker looking like new. They spray it at the shop, but a brush or small roller is all you should need. They make a primer too that you may want to use after you remove any surface rust.

This is exactly what you want, if it’s good for Shirley it’s good for me!

Rust-oleum makes a 2000° hi heat primer, and a 1200° high heat paint. I would stay away from the 500° high heat. Primer is very important if you have peeling paint or enough rust that requires sanding to remove.

But in general, clean the metal surface of any dust or grease, eliminate any loose or peeling paint, and get rid of rust. Apply primer in light coats, feathering it into surrounding areas. Follow recommended cure times. Then apply your top coat. Hard to cover areas like outside corners, welded attachments etc., may need several light coats of primer.

Last edited: