We (me) talked me out of a stick burner :-) Here's what I ended up with!

DavidJ

Knows what a fatty is.
Maybe y'all remember my post last month where I was asking to be talked out of buying a stick burner... In hindsight, I guess I should of been asking to be talked into it, :grin:.... I really did want to buy it and I actually went to the store 3 times but just couldn't quite get myself to pull out the wallet. Anyway, I did complete a few mods to the can, which included some new wheels (finally got rid of that wobbly temp platform I made a few years back) added the 5 point rack system from Hunsaker Smokers, along with the vortex basket, I also added a holder on the side for the Guru, and the cheapest and simplest upgrade of all, which is what I've really been wanting, was a simple silicone grommet on the side to slide the probes through.

I'm still learning to manage the temps with the new basket. For some reason fire control seems a lot more different than my prior open cage basket. I also got a lot more white smoke than what I've seen before, so trying to narrow that down... I burnt a butt last week (but still edible!) and didn't fare so well with the ribs this weekend (first time hanging ribs), but I'm getting dialed in!

David...

Attachments

• Can1.jpg
    Can1.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 212
  • Burnt Butt.jpg
    Burnt Butt.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 210
  • Money Muscle.jpg
    Money Muscle.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 212
  • Hanging Slabs.jpg
    Hanging Slabs.jpg
    55.6 KB · Views: 211
  • Pre-Wrap.jpg
    Pre-Wrap.jpg
    66.4 KB · Views: 210
You might want to leave the lid open longer to allow the charcoal to get going better as the Vortex firebox has a different airflow than your wire mesh basket AMHIK!

You might want to leave the lid open longer to allow the charcoal to get going better as the Vortex firebox has a different airflow than your wire mesh basket AMHIK!

Thanks for the advice Ron!