Have you switched from your homemade rub to a commercial rub?

sandiegobbq

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
I have been an executive chef in Alaska so I make my own rubs and sauces.

However, even though I have helped on some bbq teams I am basically a
backyard bbq cook.

I just can't seem to put my arms around using a commercial rub versus
what I can make.

Anyone that is an experienced cook here willing to tell me your reasons and have you found some that were better than your own concoctions.

It kind of shocked me when I saw in bbq competitions all of the
commercial stuff being used like kraft italian dressing, etc.etc.

Homemade dressing is easy as heck to make and way better than buying it.

My feeling is that commercial rubs are the same.

I will not buy a commercial bbq sauce.

Your thoughts?

There are some great rubs that use small amounts of numerous spices and as a result have great depth and complexity. I can't justify buying all those spices knowing they will sit on the shelf and eventually go bad.

I haven't been doing this long enough to switch from one to the other. I have use a commercial rub once so far and I used it because the ingredients sounded good and it was on sale.

I'll probably stick with home made at least until I have developed 4 or 5 good recipes that I really like. If I really like them I'll probably never switch to commercial stuff.

Simply Marvelous Cherry Rub is something that don't think I can reverse engineer and make as good.

Most rubs I use are my own creations based upon what I like the taste of. Sometimes I'll ask my daughter and my wife to sample of my dry rub and use their freedback to help tweak it towards perfection.

I mostly make my own rubs, but on a regular basis, I buy a rub, just to taste what other people are doing. I also like trying other people's rub recipes.