Sous Vide Journey Inspired by Big George's BBQ

IamMadMan

somebody shut me the fark up.
A Thank You to Big Georges BBQ.

After reading a few threads on Sous Vide here I was curious. It wasn't until I saw a thread posted by Big Georges BBQ that pushed me into the direction of giving this method of cooking a try.

Being a newbie I wanted to get a Sous Vide device, but didn’t want to spend a lot just to try the new cooking process. I wrestled with the purchase of the Anova 1000 Watt at $169.00, the Anova 750 Watt model which I decided to pass on, and the InkBird 1000 Watt unit at $63.00 - less than half the price. Although the Anovas are smaller and more compact, the larger InkBird wasn't an issue for me. Coming from an electronics background, I figure the larger unit will radiate and dissipate the heat better. The larger size also means a larger circulation motor for greater efficiency.

The Inkbird ISV-100W WiFi Sous Vide immersion cooker fit my budget and exceeded my expectations. As noted in the instructions, it will ONLY work with 2.4 gig WiFi connection even though it will find your 5.0 and try to connect to it. To save a headache, know your 2.4 network name and settings. You can manually enter the network information to make the set-up easy. For those who have a MAC Address rejection filter, the setup takes a little more work because the MAC Address is not listed on the device or on the unit itself; therefore connect to it with your phone to get the MAC Address and enter it into your router / firewall.

The motor is extremely quiet and manual setup is very simple. There are two APPs for this unit; Inkbird Pro and InkBird Smart:
of the two APPs, I find InkBird Pro to be the better APP for me. It allows easier custom settings in time and temperature for the end user. The app is very basic and has a preset food library, as well as a separate section to enter custom cooking temperature & time settings.