OK...The chainsaw for proper length splits solved the problem!!

cayenne

is one Smokin' Farker
Alright, well, this weekend I wanted to play with fire again on the new smoker.

This time, I had the Black and Decker Electric Lopper Chainsaw:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000BANMUY

I pulled it out and actually read the instructions (no one was looking, thank God).....

And fired it up and cut my splits to about 12" or so I think.

Anyway, by doing this...I was easily able to light a fire AND maintain temps for the most part.

I had saved the butcher paper that I'd wrapped my last brisket with...used that to start the fire and it was perfect!!!

Actually the only REAL problem I had...was getting the temperature UP high...I struggled to get above 250F...

But I'm still learning, but perviously...I had a hard time just keeping the darned thing LIT....so, anyway.

As many here had been preaching....wood split dimensions matter!!!

Thanks for the great advice on that!!

No real pics of my cook this week...but I did a Pork Butt...I split that one and will pull it this morning, I took it off last night still in foil and let rest in an ice chest overnight, layered in towels.

I also did my first try with BB ribs on the new stick burner. I think I got pretty good results.

I could not find a spray gun anywhere in the house, so I wasn't able to spritz anything...

Regarless, I got decent results out of my ribs...I seemed to have successfully rendered all the fat and collagen...no big GLOBS anywhere (I hate that)...I would have liked them just a touch more tender, but that's likely nit picking.

I did them about 4 hours nekkid, then wrapped in some butcher paper with a bit of smoked tallow I had, and a glug or two of some home made hard cider....and put back on till about 180F.

I also spatchcocked a chicken, just simply rubbed it down with Tony Chacherie's creole seasoning ( the Lawery's of Louisiana).....and smoked it.