Need some tips on getting LSG to a higher temp.

Playtoannoy

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Tom
Trying to get a feel for my new 24x60 LSG offset. She seems to purr right along at around 250-275 which is great for a lot of cooks, but I like to cook my chicken anywhere from 325-350.

Should I mess around with the tuning plates to get a hot zone one one of the sides?

Ditch the fire management basket? Works great for getting a small fire, keeping coal bed contained, and getting that 275 sweet spot, but is it holding me back from building a bigger fire with 2 splits one way and then another 2 Lincoln logged on top, and will that get me to over 300?

Or should I just get more aggressive with adding splits?

I run the pit with the stack and the intake wide open, preheat splits, and try to use smaller size splits to not have my fire smolder.

Smoke is clean and clear all the time.

Thanks in advance guys!

I've never used an LSG before, but I do have a decent amount of experience with offsets. When I want to get my offset cooking hot and fast (325°+) then I do the lincoln logs method..works every time on every offset I've ever used. I have never used a basket so I'm not sure if that's holding you back or not, but in an offset as long as your fire is burning good then more fuel will usually equate to more BTU's and a higher temperature.

That being said I cook my chicken at 250° but I hit the skin Lawry's Seasoning Salt (which has corn starch in it) and that crisps up the skin better than any other method I've used. I'm doing 150 drumsticks right now and cook them for about 3 hours at 250° and they come out perfect every time.

Good luck but it sounds like you're doing everything correctly and just need to add more fuel to the fire.