A few questions about butcher paper

smokemonster

Knows what a fatty is.
So I just called the butcher and placed an order for a brisket to cook this coming weekend. I've never tried wrapping in butcher paper before, but would like to give it a try. Is there a certain type I need to use, and if so where would I buy it from? Also, I've seen pictures with people taping the paper closed. Is there a special kind heat resistant tape I would have to use? Last but not least, is there a certain internal temp I need to get to before wrapping, or do I just wrap it once I'm satisfied with the bark and the overall look of the brisket? Thanks in advance!

So long as it's uncoated/unwaxed paper. Try a butcher supply shop or various sources online. I got mine at a butcher supply shop but others can tell you where to order online. You don't need tape, just fold the ends under the brisket. Wrap between 4-5 hours into the cook. I would also suggest that you make sure the brisket gets wrapped in only 1 layer of paper any more and you might get the "foil effect".

I've seen this at Sams and I'm temped every time I see it. Has anyone used this brand from Sams?

0060279300234_A_zpseb324e0b.jpeg

If you can't find butcher paper, I'm told parchment works in much the came way. Not waxed paper!! The silicone impregnated PARCHMENT paper in the baking aisle.
I'm also told you can use good old fashioned brown paper grocery bags.

If you are going to order bp, I suggest at least 24" wide and 36" even better. I have 24" and it could be bigger for the big briskets. POS Papers is a good place to order.