Cooking with Hickory question

Pstores

is Blowin Smoke!
So today I get a solid great set of coals going. Vents on my Meadow Creek Ts120p insulated firebox open 1 1/4" each. Running about 250-260. When I put in cherry or pecan it burns very nice. Then when I put in hickory, black friggin smoke. So, I open the cook chamber for awhile till it cleans up. But takes some time and I loose a lot of heat. I preheated my splits to the point almost to hot to pickup. And they were about 2x2 or 2x3.... Any helpful hints?

I smoke with hickory exclusively and never had that issue. You sure you have hickory? Also, has it been seasoned?

The Hickory and Pecan both do it. It is hickory. It's not punky. I put cherry on and it just sails along. Maybe next week I'll open the vents a tad more and keep more coals. It has been seasoned and kiln dried. I am new to stick burning. The first couple runs I had no issues. Then I started getting the dreaded black nasty smoke. Maybe I need a larger bed of coals. Ummmm...... Learning curve....

Funny after my first three cooks I thought I really had this down.... Loll.......

Just put on a pecan and cherry coals burning down. And perfect no black smoke... So it's a hickory thing. I measured my vents. Next cook I'll have them right at the same mark as right now

I'm not an expert, just an advanced beginner. I have a friend that used to own four Q Joints, another friend that owned one, and a traveling state fair concession cook.

They all used green hickory. I used to buy some of their unused cured and dried for my fireplace
Green. Low and Slow.

I am thinking I am putting on to many splits at once. I was adding one pecan, one cherry and one hickory...... Think from now on I'll put one at a time one except at the beginning when I have a my Royal oak charcoal going to get it started and warmed up.