What new smoker to get

rblaster

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Hello everyone, I am new here to the forum but have been lurking for a while. a little background on my self.

I live in upstate ny (albany area), im a mechanical engineer and I have been inti smoking for about 3 months now. i have gotten in the habit of smoking food every weekend (some times a couple time a weekend) and I have enjoyed every minute of it.

I have a smokin it #3 electric smoker (first smoker ever, bought electric off a recommendation for a buddy).

So far i have cooked the following with varying results.

Baby back ribs,
do these almost every weekend, have them down to a science, cook for approximately 4.5 to 5 hrs un wrapped at 225.

Pork butt / Shoulder (for pulled pork)
Have done one of these every other weekend since starting, typically cook 10 to 15 hrs, approach now is start at 200 over night and then bump up to 225 for the finish, never wrapp either. Have done injected and not and seem to get better results injected.

Burgers / Meat loaf
These came out too smokey, i think the additional surface area made it absorb the smoke too much, was bad enough that I havnt tried agian, need to try agian with very little wood

Bacon.
Have done this a few times, have it dialed in, i use a very small amount of wood, cook the bacon at 225 for about an hr or so. it seems to " cure" the bacon. The wife and i typically make blts with this.

Pork loin.
Cooked a 10 pounder the other weekend for family and it came out perfect, 225 for 2 to 3 hrs.

Brisket
Did a full brisket for superbowl. Temp on the flat shot up really quick the jumped around, turned out my temp probe broke, brisket was very dry and disappointing, will try agian but this was an expensive mistake.

Whole chickens
Have done several, I am on the fence on how they coom, the skin is always rubbery. the meat is always juicy but something is just off about them.

Smokin it #3 smoker.