Wagyu, onion, bbq sriracha smash burger

robertm

is one Smokin' Farker
Name or Nickame
ROBERT
I went for broke this weekend. I've been playing around with smash burgers for a few years now and this was unquestionably the best I've ever made. Possibly the best burger I've ever eaten. The pic simply doesn't do it justice.

Walmart around me started carrying 1 lb packages of American Wagyu for $5/lb. It's really dam tasty and well worth the extra ~$2.

Recently started playing with the OK onion burger technique. It really is more than the sum of it's parts. The onions get caramelized and are juicy and meld into the meat to make an already awesome burger even better.

Finally the BBQ sriracha sauce from Trader Joes. Sometimes I wish I'd never tried this stuff. It is so flippen good on a burger I can't eat them any other way now. In fact I stood in line for 30 minutes on Sunday waiting to get in just to get more of this spicy, bbqey elixir in a bottle. (Yes I bought 4 bottles and no I didn't care that I took half their stock.)

Other players are Freddies steak burgers seasoning, good ole Kraft American cheese and a freshly buttered and toasted bun.

I'm telling you all 10 of my fingers were licked after this burger!

(I'm going to make a point of getting some better pics next time I make these)

CwVHyvX.jpg

5K4XVHt.jpg

Last edited:
I usually go with 4 oz burgers. Mostly because I’m lazy and I can eyeball pretty close with 1lb increments of meat. Admittedly they are little oversized for the buns using regular 80/20. Using the wagyu they shrink up a little more and are good sized fit for the larger sized buns. I’ve got a bunch of ground nilgai in the freezer I use for smash burgers as well. It hardly shrinks at all and is pretty oversized at 4 oz. Again though it’s just easy. It likely comes down to the fat percentage. The higher fat percentage melts away on the grill and results in a smaller finished burger.