To Soak or Not Soak

I never soak wood chips or wood chunks. They produce water vapor and cause poor combustion allowing small condensation droplets which could contain soot and/or tars to form on the meat.

I never use chips and never soak chunks.
There is almost no water penetration on chunks anyway. You only delay the inevitable, and quite possibly create the worst possible smoke in your pit.

Last edited:
I'm no expert, but I shoot to get the wood on fire and burning clean smoke. Plus, I can't imagine all these good BBQ joints having a guy standing around and soaking wood. Good question though, I've read a lot about soaking wood.

No soaking here either. I was iffy about it at first as many recipe's call for it. I never soak now

I do. Granted, I'm using a gasser grill with wood chips wrapped in foil bc I live in an apartment building and charcoal isn't allowed. I tried once without soaking and that was the only time I got the bitter/unclean smoke flavor in my cook. Obviously it's anything goes once I get proper smoking equipment.

I don't. I think meathead had it right when he said if water really does penetrate wood easily we probably wouldn't make ships out of it :grin:

I think the net effect of soaking wood is probably just to put a little bit of water on your fire--doesn't strike me as a good idea.

I never use chips and never soak chunks.
There is almost no water penetration on chunks anyway. You only delay the inevitable, and quite possibly create the worst possible smoke in your pit.

This question is a recurring one on all the BBQ forums. A couple of years ago SoEzzy over at the Smoke Ring challenged me to do some research after I had posted that I have used fresh cut apple chunks with none of the expected "bad" smoke, in fact it was all TBS and sweet smelling.