THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

chris_todd

Found some matches.
So I'm still new to smoking, and to this site, so be gentle as this is my first real post.

I have 18.5" and 22.5" WSMs with DigiQ DX2s with 10 cfm fans, and have always used Kingsford Blue. However, I was at Restaurant Depot a few weeks ago, and picked up some Royal Oak lump. I'm doing a full competition practice for a friend's 4th of July party this weekend, and am wondering:

What do I need to know about the differences between Kingsford Blue and Royal Oak lump in my WSMs? Should I use the same quantities? Should expect consistently hotter or colder temps for the same quantity of charcoal? Do I need to start with more unlit lump because it burns hotter? I light my Kingsford using a normal chimney starter, may I assume I can do the same for the lump?

I should note I usually use the so-called "Minion" method of fueling my WSMs, where I almost fill the ring with unlit briquettes, and then dump in either a full or half full chimney of hot coals in the center, depending on the temp I'm trying to achieve and the duration of the cook.

I have read some conflicting information on the interwebs, but the general consensus I have gathered is that lump burns hotter and with less ash. I have always had problems in my WSMs with the temps dropping late in a cook (especially with the 22, which seems to be quite the fuel hog, though that also seems well documented on the web), and I have wondered whether some of that is due to the ash buildup on the Kingsford briquettes preventing them from burning well, though I'm really not sure.