Should I get an offset if I have an IVS?

peterm

Hi all,

I've learned so much here; thanks for all the knowledge!

Like the title says, I've got a LSG mini IVS on order. Capacity-wise it's perfect. I'm wondering if there's any need for an offset once the cabinet arrives. I've no experience with either, having used only a large BGE since 2010. I'm very excited for the IVS upgrade, which should be decently similar to what I'm used to (Fireboard, set-and-forget idea). Is there a reason to add an offset to the arsenal? I don't have a problem sourcing wood, and finding time to manage it usually shouldn't be an issue (and when it is, I can use the IVS).

But do I gain anything from the offset? I've read from numerous folks here that the LSG IVS can get quite close to offset results once I figure out what I'm doing, and you all have given some great suggestions for how to make that happen. Is the offset largely a lifestyle choice, then, trading flexibility for the fun of fire management? I know many of you have both. I also know many of you have sold your offsets after getting an IVS.

Thanks for all your wisdom!

IVS can get close ta offset flavor and "close" is a matter of perspective and telling ourselves stories. A IVS is not a offset and smoldering wood chunks is not a hot clean fire, but we say it's close, I say it's close being a IVS owner and user...it's not a offset. The offset stick burner is king of the mountain and it's not sharing that spot with a IVS or anything else.

-D

IVS can get close ta offset flavor and "close" is a matter of perspective and telling ourselves stories. A IVS is not a offset and smoldering wood chunks is not a hot clean fire, but we say it's close, I say it's close being a IVS owner and user...it's not a offset. The offset stick burner is king of the mountain and it's not sharing that spot with a IVS or anything else.

-D

DING! DING! DING!

Smoldering wood smoke vs. flaming wood smoke is the difference.