Pork Butt Rub Question

bbqgeekess

Babbling Farker
Is it okay to leave rub on raw pork butt for 12 hours, in the fridge? If so, should I cover it with plastic wrap or leave it exposed to the air in the fridge?

In the past I've usually rubbed them down and throw in fridge for perhaps an hour or two. But I want to start the cook later on today.

Hello bbqgeekess,

I'm no expert but I don't see any problem with that. As a matter of fact I think a lot of people do that.

It would serve as a dry brine. I would wrap in tightly in plastic cling wrap. You're not trying to dry out the skin like on poultry.

Some say a longer dry brine can give pork a ham like quality. Myron Mixon calms it pulls out more moisture than is reabsorbed so he doesn't recommend it.

My go to technique is to take it out of fridge, towel off excess moisture, apply rub and let it melt in as meat gradually comes up towards room temp (I'm not concerned about smoke ring) as I get fire started. Just before I put in the pit I re-apply to tough up the rub. I've never had a pork butt taste over seasoned. Poultry, most def, but not butt.

Good luck and have fun.

JD

I've done it before, especially if I'm trying to save time/effort in the morning when I'm starting up the smoker and staging the food to go on. I would wrap or cover in plastic wrap, and if you need to, do a quick touch up of rub right before they go on. When I pre-season, I usually tightly wrap in plastic and refrigerate until I'm ready.

Thanks for the advice.

I am cooking up some pork butts for my nephew so he can save money bringing lunch to work instead of paying $8 there every day for lunch.

Going to pull it, add Shack Attack, portion it into 1/2 lb and wrap in plastic wrap. He'll just bring a frozen 1/2 pound portion to work and microwave it in a bowl there. He'll also bring some buns and bbq sauce. Should be quick and easy, and tasty lunch each time.

I figure it will cost him around $1.50 per meal this way.