I really don’t like this place.

chingador

is Blowin Smoke!
I stumbled across this site back in 2006. There are periods of time when I post a lot but at times I will retreat into the background and just read what everybody else is saying. Either way, I am on this site every day. There is a lot to be learned, there is some entertainment, there are some great cook threads, some fine folks, and since this is the internet, there is a fair amount of drama and human imperfections.

When I first joined, I was fairly new to cooking BBQ. My father and brother were big grillers, but my culinary skills were limited to the indoors. I was a good cook, actually did some table side cooking at a private country club so knew my way around a kitchen.

When I joined my cooking arsenal consisted of a gasser from BBQ Galore and a horizontal drum grill from H-E-B. When I joined I learned about the Bandera and it was downhill from there. At the same time my wife bought me a copy of Mike Mill’s “peace love and bbq” and off I went. So I figured out what a fatty was, learned the virtue of thin blue smoke vs thick grey smoke, and all was good. I burned through 2 banderas and figured out that I would be happier with a more permanent cooker. A good friend of mine had a hookup on Primo Kamados at cost so I bought a Primo XL oval Kamado and have been cooking on it for the last 10 years. I still needed more capacity so I added an ugly drum smoker. Where did I learn about this cooker? Right here.

It is here I learned about pellet cookers many years ago. Sounded weird. The Traeger infomercials hit the cable networks 5 years ago and I decided I would never own something so lame.

But something happened. I just started to doubt the quality of slow smoked meats off of my Primo and UDS. Don’t get me wrong. It is good but just not quite there. Especially on pork ribs. Nothing was as good as the food that came off the old bandera. Maybe I was just mistaken?