Dedicated Sausage Smoker

Willowe1980

Got Wood.
Name or Nickame
Will
Howdy,

A couple of quick questions. Has anyone been able to mimic the flavor of real smoked sausage on a MES, or similar style smoker? I currently have an offset with a vertical box which works well. However in this post covid world I just don't have the time to sit by the fire, drink beer and smoke sausage. I bought a used Big Chief and while its a nifty little cooker, its just not giving me the flavor profile I am looking for. I have zero experience with vertical smokers, electric, charcoal, or otherwise.
I guess what I am asking for is an honest review or suggestion on an alternative to my offset. More of a set it and forget it. It would need to get down pretty low, as I would be using it mainly for sausage, bacon, etc. Most likely wouldn't use it for brisket or ribs.

Thanks for you help!

I smoke sausage on my pellet grill. If you got a vertical pellet grill you could probably hang them. My Mak runs at 170-180* on the lowest “smoke” setting. If you want something closer to “cold smoke” you might need to get something that burns sawdust, use a pellet tube, etc.

Last edited:
Drums are good for sausage if you have a hanging rack. But give the Big Chief another try, only this time use some good quality pellets instead of the chips. And very small amounts of pellets. I never empty the ash, just add a few more pellets. The Chief's are flavor smokers, so after a couple three hours you might have to finish on another cooker or the oven. Here is some Big Chief sausage.

oFhTsI6.jpg

Last edited:
Some people also use the masterbuilt gravity fed smokers. I haven’t personally so I can’t attest to how well it actually works.

I have never had an MES but smoked sausage quite a bit on an electric smoker. I used two amazn tubes filled with pellets and I had plenty of smoke flavor on the links