• Green Chile Chorizo Sloppy José on a Crusty Roll

Moose

somebody shut me the fark up.

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
Richard
Given that we have a Fusion Feast Throwdown in progress, I didn't want to miss an opportunity to come up with something I've never done before: this unique sammich creation is a fusion of two foods – American and Mexican, a Sloppy Joe meets a Mexican Torta. So, I named it a Sloppy [FONT=&quot]José![/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]First, I started with by blackening some poblano chiles:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
5ZpT5Gb.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Removed the skins and seeds:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
dv1iVsT.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Slow cooked caramelized onions:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
3q0mKH1.jpg
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Added the chopped chiles to the onions:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
oQUBZLi.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Then cooked the Chorizo that we get from a Mexican market in Nashville. It is the best chorizo I’ve ever had, even better than we used to get in LA![/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
dCwIGlh.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]With all of that done, I fired up the Blackstone griddle and started browning the chorizo/chile/onion mixture:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
F9umcmC.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Almost done:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
ZWS4yyA.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]And here it is, the Sloppy José sammich fully constructed: the chorizo mixture was spooned into a hollowed out super fresh Publix grinder roll, topped with homemade pico de gallo and some cheese:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
tXrWNeY.jpg

[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
Cut and ready to eat:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
JxxQ8EZ.jpg

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]It was bursting with flavor, and the coolness of the pico de gallo and cheese offset the hot spicy chorizo, onions, and chiles. Delicious. And sloppy![/FONT]