Advice for a larger catering event

Eric Happy Meal

Found some matches.
Reaction score
So i have been cooking BBQ for a couple years, done a few comps and have catered for small events before. This year i catered for my works christmas party (40 people) and one of the attendees offered me a catering contract for two events (these are yearly events) for roughly 400 people each event. Both will be buffet style where i just need to supply the food and walk away. Not sure on how many Meats/sides they are looking for at this time. I dont want to get into too much detail, but there is a strong possibility for more of these events to come up (same size) as well.

Now, I've never done anything this big before, so here is what i know that ill need:

Business License
Health Department certification
Commercial Kitchen
New smoker (currently have a YS640)
food transportation (cambros?)

Health dept/license/kitchen i should be able to take care of myself, but what im really curious about is what i should look for in a new smoker (FEC), and what about food transportation? I know that eventually (maybe now?) i will need a trailer with power/sink etc.

whats everyones thoughts/advice on this?

Are you looking to get all the meat done at one time for the event? If you are, look for something that will hold at least 35 butts. That is if it is a one meat buffet. What kind of space do you have for a smoker? Those are the questions I would answer first.

i would prefer to do it all at once, as im not really a fan of cooking then reheating. now if it is something like 2 meats then i would plan on finishing the large meats early and having an empty smoker to use for chicken while the other meats are storing.

as for storage, i have plenty of room for one.

I have 2 Viking gravity fed smokers that will work out nice for that.