Bacon Cure Bag, ziplock or foodSaver?

2drunk2Q

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I've bought a pork belly and I'm going to cure it to make bacon. Would I be ok to cure the belly in a foodSaver bag? Do I need to just seal bag or remove all air? Or should I just use a big ziploc bag? Probably a dumb question but it's my first time trying. Thanks

Don't try removing the air, but sealing with a foodsaver is a great way to keep the mess to a minimum. With ziplocks I always end up having to double bag because I get salt and spices in the zipper part and it won't seal right.

Either type of bag will work fine, idea is to remove most of the air so the belly sits flat. Don't use cheap bag, you get what you pay.

If you use a Foodsaver bag use caution not to get liquid into the machine when you seal it.

I use a foodsaver bag, just press out as much air as I can and then seal it without pulling a vacuum.

+1,
I have cured bacon in a ziplock and foodsaver and you just have to be careful to ensure a good seal. I always place the bagged bacon in a shallow container to be safe.

I use zip lock bags for wet-curing and recently started wrapping dry-cured bacon with plastic wrap (3-4 tightly wrapped layers) with good results.

This is what I do too. Zip lock or crock for brine cure and plastic wrap for dry cured.
I have some old enamel ware that works great. Just keep the meat submerged.

The biggest thing is to make sure it is totally submerged in the brine wether bucket or bag .we use to use plastic drums with weight on top to brine and overhaul every couple of days ie:rotate

Zip locks, plastic wrap, even a shallow pan covered in wrap, it's all good.

Not trying to hijack but........
Which works easier/better for belly wet or dry cure?

Both have their pluses and minuses.