New Smoker(I mean me)

cansno

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm completely new to smoking. Can't believe the info on here. Didn't realize this art was so complex. Almost mind boggling. Received my 18.5 WSM from santa and haven't even fired her up yet. My primary reason for unit is smoking fish, which there is an abundance here. I'm sure cooking will probably come. Trying to soak up as much info as possible first, and doing a few mods that I think will work for me. ie: Added brackets to use a 3rd rack between top and bottom racks. I installed a stove gasket for the cover and fabricated a pan to lodge in the base, to catch ashes and hopefully make cleanup easier. My next step is to light a few dry runs for conditioning. A couple questions I have (there will most certainly be more): There is also an abundance of Alder, Birch, Maple and Cherry around here. Can I use short blocks of wood right from the tree, say, 1X1 or chips for my smoke wood instead of the commercial pucks? Also, I've read you shouldn't smoke fish and meat with the same unit. Is this true? My budget doesn't allow me to have two.

Last edited:
Welcome to the addiction :grin:

For other mods I'd suggest a unknown BBQ lid hinge, and tie your charcoal ring to the charcoal grate, makes it easier to shake out the ash from unused coals. I would be all over the cherry and maple wood, cut them down to fist size chunks if it's convenient.

No need to season the WSM, throw in a Fatty for a short cook or just go with a Pork Butt for a long cook, my first cook on the WSM was a Butt.

I smoke meat and fish on my Egg and never have had a problem. Have never done it at the same time. I am sure others will chime in. Welcome. You will love your WSM

Welcome. Good to see more folks laying down some comic sans up in here :-D