XL Big Green Egg vs Kamado Joe

Headgear

Full Fledged Farker

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
David
I have decided that instead of getting a new pellet smoker, a BGE would be more versatile and produce better smoke and flavor, especially on steaks, burgers, etc. I have no experience with them so do you guys and ladies have opinions between them?

I am not interested in cost difference because I would get accessories for the BGE that would pretty much match the KJ cost-wise.

Thanks in advance

I have a Summit, while it doesn’t have all the accessories the KJE or Green Egg it’s a fantastic cooker, does everything my old Kamado did with no fear of ceramics breaking. I do all of my grilling on it since I have other smokers but I have used it for smoking in the past with excellent results, my favorite feature is having the ability to adjust your charcoal level. I purchased an extra charcoal grate so I have one on the very bottom for smoking or when I do chicken over an open flame & then have one on the level directly under the cooking grate so I can use the Weber baskets for two zone cooking, it’s a beast.

Warranty work can be a nightmare depending how good your BGE dealer is and if they understand how it works. Kamado Joe will ship replacement parts to your door.

I've had my BGE for 14 years and it has been absolutely fantastic if you have a good dealer. It's a pain if you don't. They're pretty much the same grill/smoker with a lifetime warranty. Kamado Joe wasn't around when I purchased my first BGE. Given the ease of Kamado Joe warranty work it would be hard to pass up if I was looking for one in today's market.

Warranty on the Big Joe was pretty easy. Took a little extra time because it was during the Rona. They've also changed their design a bit. No more one piece firebox, if it breaks, they only need to send you a smaller piece.

ZMPhZ3ol.jpg