Teaching a grilling class

tclark

Knows what a fatty is.
So I've been asked to teach a grilling class at the church and I'm looking for ideas/suggestions. I've never done anything like this before and not sure how I want to go about it (it's completely up to me on what we do). Will likely bring the Webers up there (got a 22 and 26 with slow n sear for both and a vortex).

Anyone ever done such a thing and have and ideas or suggestions? It will likely be a mix of complete nubes to folks better than me so need to appeal to a wide range of skill levels. I would guess it'll be less than 20 people.

Open to any and all input!

I've been teaching a part of an annual holiday cooking class. My approach has been to walk them through the process from buying meat (going over things like what you look for) to prep of meat and cooker, and ultimately through the cook. The students typically appreciate not only being told what to do but also give some reasons behind some decisions (examples: why you cook direct vs indirect, if you use smoke wood, which type of wood you would recommend and why). Give some tips where possible and encourage questions as well as think of simple questions you can ask them so things can be a little more interactive and not just read from a script.

As for what to cook, I too would try to keep it simple. Try to avoid a really complex cook or something you have to constantly be hands on or running around like crazy (having someone available to help you is very valuable if you can arrange that).

The above works for me but I'm sure there's other ways to teach a class.

You didn't say how long of a class but unless you're entertaining as well as being informative you'll want to keep things on the shorter side.... perhaps 1-2 hours at the most. I would also suggest you do a trial run for a friend or two just to see how organized your ideas and presentation are.