Road Trip Debrief

smokainmuskoka

is one Smokin' Farker
I got back from a 2 week family road trip which took us from Ontario, Canada through 8 states, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi. The excuse was taking my son to a video game convention, but the real reason was to visit music centers along the route and sample a cross section of regional BBQ. I'm a musician as well and places like Nashville, Memphis and Austin are cities I've wanted to visit for over 30 years. Bear in mind that we had 3 people with varying tastes in food and a somewhat limited timeframe in each locale. For simplisity, I'll stick to the 'Q'.

Bardstown Kentucky, had lunch at The Old Talbott Tavern. I had a pulled pork sandwich and a cup of Burgoo. I had forgotten after 2 weeks that I had the sandwich, so I can't say it was memorable, probably better than Arby's or similar. The Burgoo however was very enjoyable, like a standard meat stew with extra pepper.

Nashville, Tennessee, lunch at Jack's BBQ, around the corner from the Ryman Auditorium. I had a pulled pork plate, wife and son had sandwiches. The pulled pork had a nice flavour and was definitely smoked, bark and smoke ring in evidence. Sides were OK(baked beans/slaw). The place smelled like my yard when I have the UDS going, so I liked it as soon as we entered.

Next BBQ stop was Stubb's in Austin on July 4th. We had a bit of a time finding it on foot and we were getting used to the hotter(to us)climate. We met some other nerds from the gaming convention in a drugstore, and they helped us with their fancy phone to locate the joint. I had brisket and sausage, collards and slaw son had a brisket sammie, and I my bride had the pulled pork sammie. I tried my wifes pulled pork and it was really good, maybe the best I remember from the trip.
The brisket was tender and flavourful, the sausage was OK, slaw was nice, collard - I prefer making my own.