WSM 22.5 On The Way

ChrisBarb

is one Smokin' Farker
I finally settled on a 22.5 WSM as the best compromise between "real" smoking" and the "set it and forget it" world. Pellet poopers are out. Too many complaints of not enough smoke flavor and they wouldn't be usable around here in the winters due being electrical in nature.

So, the WSM has been ordered and is on the way. I want to add a controller. These two seem to be the main players. https://bbqguru.com/storenav/gurucookerguide?DeviceModelId=181&kitId=115 and https://pitmasteriq.com/products/iq120. Which one is preferred? They both seem decent.

And lastly, water in the H2O pan or not?

Thanks!

edit: I know the controllers are electrical too. But I can remove them when things get wet or snowy.

Congrats on the new smoker. I have a Pitmaster IQ110, I don't use it a lot because the WSM is pretty stable once it settles in. I hook it up when I'm not going to be home for the whole cook, works well.

I'd suggest getting a lid hinge and attaching the charcoal ring to the charcoal grate, makes it easy to pickup as one piece and shake out the ash when cleaning up. I used small SS hose clamps. You will also need something to monitor temps because the WSM thermo is unreliable.

I run mine dry and use a clay saucer for a heat sink, easier to get higher temps, burns less fuel and don't have to worry about cleaning the water bowl.

Congrats on the purchase, I love my 22.5.
Like Kevin said, recommend attaching the grate/charcoal ring--much easier clean up.
I "notched" the lip on mine to run the probes for my maverick. Took 15 seconds with a grinder. I recently added Nomex gaskets to the door and the lid.

I've always run water in mine. I have wooded property so it's easy to dump the water after a cook. I've been happy running with water, but am going to try a heat sink, just for something different on an upcoming cook.