THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

wickerdave

Found some matches.
Name or Nickame
Dave
I'm hosting a neighborhood BBQ gathering for around 25 people on Labor day weekend, I'm cooking ribs, pork butt, pork belly and sausage. I will have two pellet smokers, a masterbuilt electric smoker, and an outdoor griddle to accomplish the cook. I have never used an electric smoker before but I have been watching all the youtube videos I can find on using one. Due to the amount of cooking space available, it looks like I will be using the Masterbuilt to smoke the two 10 lb. pork butts. My concern is the smoke time. I'm torn between an overnight smoke at 225 degrees or a shorter early in the morning cook start, at 275 degrees. We are eating at 5:eek:opm. Help please..

Always better to have it done early than not done on time

I'd go overnight, then let them get down to 140-150 and throw them back in the electric smoker as low as it'll go and use it as a warming cabinet

If you do overnight, you'll probably need to wake up at times to feed the smoker new wood chips unless you like a light smoke profile, otherwise it will just cook like an oven.

I used to have a Masterbuilt electric, could get maybe two hours of smoke before refill needed. Not sure what model you have or if they have changed any in 15 years.