Thin Black Smoke

McSpazatron

is one Smokin' Farker
I got my offset last February. Even though I cooked like crazy over the summer, I would say I'm still learning. About half of my cooks have been using only oak wood (the other half primarily lump charcoal). I've taken all the advice of cutting down splits to manageable sizes to ensure a good small, clean, hot fire. I think I got it down for the most part, if anything, the fire has generally been too clean (compared to the nice smoked flavor I can get from cooking with charcoal and with wood chips in smoking box).

So this last Sunday I decided on impulse to cook some ribs. Went looking for pork spare ribs, but didn't find any that I liked. The last place I checked also did not have spare ribs, but they had Beef Short Plate Ribs instead (capitalized out of due respect). Good problem to have...

It was two in the afternoon when I got home with the goods, so I decided on a hot and fast cook, which I have never done on purpose. I usually cook around 275. This time I decided to cook at around 325-350. I decided on using oak, and I used my usual sized splits, from an "established" batch of oak purchased earlier this year. The oak looked good, nothing odd about the pieces, well seasoned, and not too dry.

Anyway, to make a long story twice as long, I was struggling with thin black sooty smoke for most of the cook. It was not bellowing black smoke or anything like that, but it was a very thin black smoke. It was confirmed when I threw in some polish sausages in the middle of the cook. . The sassages were in there maybe 30 min, but they came out slightly sooted, without the usual golden, slightly shiny, smoke-kissed color that I usually get. They were edible, but not appealing to look at.