Smoked Turkey Breast Bone In?

Mrshaunyd

Knows what a fatty is.
So after going to every store in a 50 mile radius all I could find is Bone In turkey breast which this year I wanted to do a texas smoked turkey but could not find boneless, should I de bone the turkey or would I be ok leaving it bone in? Also this is my first time going with turkey breast, after watching about snows bbq I have wanted to try this.

Thanks

Not sure whats out your way but I have good luck finding butterball boneless breast roasts. They are usually in the frozen food isle's year round. I have tremendous luck w them

Yeah i couldn't even find any of them, the tags were out for them but were sold out. Unfortunately with another partial lockdown looming people are buying things up in Michigan rampantly lol

I cook boneless turkey breast all the time and I always start out with bone in breast. Look up Franklin style turkey breast on YouTube and there’s a few videos that show an easy way to debone them.

I smoke bone-in turkey breast quite a bit. Usually takes about 3-4 hours or so for a 6-8 pounder. I dry brine ahead of time usually. I actually prefer the bone-in. Will be doing 4 on Thanksgiving.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

If you are looking to do TX style smoked turkey it will generally be done off the bone. If you can't find just the breast then cut off before brine/smoking. Here is my method:

1) Get large boneless breast from the butcher or buy breast on the bone or buy whole turkey. NEVER buy the butterball boneless turkey breast. It’s packed full of so much sodium and other stuff it really changes the flavor.

2) If still on the bone, remove.

3) Brine overnight in a basic brine.
Brine ratio:
1 gal cold water
1/2 cup kosher
2/3 cup brown sugar.

4) Pull breast, rinse and sprinkle with rub.
Rub ratio:
2 tbsp coarse pepper
1 tbsp kosher
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
(Makes more than you need)

5) Smoke 275 with oak wood until around 150 or about 2 hrs