Requesting Input (sausage)

Swine Spectator

is Blowin Smoke!
Name or Nickame
David
So, I have been making sausage for 20 years. I think I am pretty decent at it. The problem I have had is that I used to make big batches (20-40 lbs) at a time. It was always a big to-do and I didn't do it very often. I have a #32 grinder, a 20 lb mixer, and a 11 lb stuffer. Every time I made sausage it was an event. My grinder weighs 60 lbs all by itself.

I recently got the metal grinder attachment for my KitchenAid and discovered that making 5lb batches is no big deal. The grinder works great and I can use the mixer to make the batter. Then I use my stuffer at 1/2 capacity. Clean-up is a breeze.

I am not planning to get rid of the big grinder or mixer, but I'll save them for our neighborhood Oktoberfest.

The other benefit to small batches is that it allows for experimentation. My Bacon, Hatch Chile, Cheddar sausage is my most recent example.

I have about 10 established sausage recipes that I used to make in quantity, but now I can (and want) to experiment with new ones.

My Hatch Chile sausage wiped out my high-temp cheddar. This time I ordered high-temp mozzarella. I have a few ideas, but I would like the Brethren's input. Here are my thoughts:

Idea #1: Tuscan Sausage
Pork
Sun-Dried Tomatoes
Fresh Basil
High-temp Mozzarella
Fennel
(maybe Walnuts???)

Idea #2 Pizza Sausage
Pork
Ground Pepperoni
V-8 juice
High-temp Mozzarella

Idea #3 Cheesy Italian
Cheesy Italian Sausage
Regular Italian Sausage
+ High-temp Mozzarella

I welcome the Brethren's input on my next batch.

You make sense. I've been making sausage 4 a while. My equipment is set for a 5 # batch. With small batches, when I fail it's not a big deal.

All of your recipes look good.

Last edited:
@Stingerhook & @JRDINCC - Y'all aren't helping. I am, asking for opinions on what you'd like to see me make.

I'd try the pizza first.

Some thoughts on what you listed: