Pulled Pork Box

SURVIVORQ

Found some matches.
I am still fairly new to competition and would like a little advice on how to build a pork box if all you are going to used is pulled and some chunks. I am not very good a getting the money muscle yet so I don't see me doing slices. One of the comments from a judge was it was "messy" and I thought it looked pretty good so I am at a loss. Any photos or tips would be much appreciated!!

Best advice I can give you is to take a picture of your boxes before you turn in and review them after a few days. It always looks worse than you thought it was on saturday.

Second would be to look at pictures on bbq critic. Focus on the really good boxes and think through why they look good compared to yours

Good luck out there

Best advice I can give you is to take a picture of your boxes before you turn in and review them after a few days. It always looks worse than you thought it was on saturday.

Second would be to look at pictures on bbq critic. Focus on the really good boxes and think through why they look good compared to yours

Good luck out there

Great advice here^^^. There is a page on Facebook that is called bbq turn in boxes that is pretty good as well.

I am still fairly new to competition and would like a little advice on how to build a pork box if all you are going to used is pulled and some chunks. I am not very good a getting the money muscle yet so I don't see me doing slices. One of the comments from a judge was it was "messy" and I thought it looked pretty good so I am at a loss. Any photos or tips would be much appreciated!!

I know the rules say the judges are only to judge what's in the box blah blah blah but the reality is if you don't have slices in your box the likelihood that your pork score will be anywhere near the top of the score sheet is nil. you might want to work on nailing tenderness on your money muscle(along with everything else) before doing a comp. Might I suggest a class?