New guy here................

woody1949

Got Wood.
Name or Nickame
Larry
I just found this site a few days ago and it looks like a place I could enjoy. I live in northeast Oklahoma and always have. Nice folks here.........lots of BBQ joints............some good......some better.....

I guess my preference is ribs and brisket, though a pile of pulled pork butt or chicken will get me excited too. I am always suspicious when my que is served with sauce poured over it. I like for the meat to speak for itself...........I think it attests to the skill of the pitmaster.

I have been cooking for the last 30 years........mostly on pits that I built myself. Mostly for family and friends, though I used to do a yearly cook for vendors, employees and customers where I worked. That usually involved cooking a couple hundred pounds of ribs, pork butt, briskets, sausage, chicken and bologna with a lot of help from volunteers.

I currently have two Blackstone griddles (those things are awesome), a JennAire gas grill ( that I don't use very often), an outdoor kitchen with a 4' diameter wood fired oven, a charcoal grill and a trailer mounted pit that I built. The pit is built using a 42" diameter by 5' tank with large firebox on one end, a no smoke oven (sits on top of the firebox and will hold six of the large stainless steel restaurant style pans), and it is dampered to allow me to direct the heat and smoke across the grate or to dump excess heat out the stack. The smoker uses a 54 Chevy pickup front axle and springs. When I set it down on the axle, it straightened out the springs,....so I added a set of coil springs from a 65 Mustang to help support the weight....LOL. It worked. I will post pics if I can figure out how.