Hunsaker Drum or Primo XL???

Bacchus2b

is Blowin Smoke!
I have about $1,000 in spare change to put towards a new toy, and I'm looking for feedback on getting either a very lightly used Primo XL with stainless cart and a bunch of accessories or a brand new Hunsaker Drum smoker with two grids.

I already have enough smokers and grills covered in my current assortment of toys, so not looking for any particular function. I've never owned a Kamado-style cooker and thought the Primo XL would be fun to play with. I like the idea of shutting it down and being able to reuse lump, but I'm also aware of the airflow limitations. Pizza on a Kamado also sounds fun.

Hunsaker intrigues me as well and they seem to produce excellent Q. I'm a relative newbie to hot and fast other than using my PBC, and the Hunsaker holds a lot of appeal from that perspective. My main concern here is that I will like it enough I will end up buying several more!

What would you purchase???

Oh man, two great but different cookers. The drums make for fantastic smokers (low n slow and hot n fast). You can cook at higher temps and even grill on them... but that’s not really what they are designed for. Kamado’s can both smoke and grill and everything in between. I will say this though... in my opinion, if smoking is important to you, the drums run circles around the kamados because they have MUCH better airflow. To my tastes, the low n slow flavor profile from kamados is a campfire-stagnant-smoke flavor. I just don’t find it desirable. Others will disagree [emoji3061]

Last edited:
IMnotalwaysHO

Since you have multiple bbq devices, that will make great bbq, go with the kamado. I like the idea of making pizza in the grill at 800* or being able to sear a good steak.