First smoker: WSM or OK Joe's Bronco?

KevinInStL

Knows what a fatty is.
Name or Nickame
Kevin
The spring-like weather here in St. Louis has me thinking about being outside again. So of course I’m thinking about BBQing. I’m fairly new to real BBQing, and so far I only have my Weber Kettle. But I’m looking at smokers, trying to decide between an 18.5” WSM and an Oklahoma Joe’s Bronco.

Everyone and their brother has a WSM. They’re apparently very easy to use and easy to hold temp for a long time. There’s a ton of tribal knowledge on using them. But, if I were to get one, I’d want wheels, a better door, a lid hinge, maybe a hanging kit, maybe a Hunsaker vortex plate. So even if I get a used WSM for around $150, I’d be looking at more like $300-400+ by the time I add all the accessories. But, still not bad for a great smoker that’s easy to use, makes great food, will last quite a while, and should be easy to resell if I ever want to upgrade.

On the other hand, the Bronco includes all of those accessories for $300. Plus I saw they went on sale for less than $200 a lot of places last fall…and I could stand to wait if I could get one for that price. Everything I’ve read and watched about the Bronco says that it’s a great smoker that holds temp well and is easy to use. But, it’s only been on the market for a little over a year, so doesn’t have the history or associated tribal knowledge of the WSM, nor does it have the wealth of great aftermarket accessories available for it. Durability is also kind of unknown since there are none in existence that are older than like 14 months. I’m a little concerned that it may rust out quickly, because I see a lot of not-very-old Oklahoma Joe’s offsets on CL that are pretty rusty, at least on and around the firebox.

So what do you think, brethren? Anyone have experience with both the Bronco and WSM?