New PBC - tips for a newb?

highergr0und

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Ok, so my PBC wasn't supposed to ship until next week but as I cut the grass today I saw the box sitting on my porch... Super excited.

Anyways, I'm relatively new to cooking anything but burgers, chicken breasts, and the occasional beer can chicken on my OTG. Any tips for the PBC? Any seasoning necessary? Anything else?

From what I understand is that they are ready to go right outta the box no seasoning is required. I really like this cooker and want one but I'm gonna build a mini first.

Tons of tips on YouTube for the PBC!

Congrats! You'll enjoy it a lot. No seasoning needed. Just fire it up and I would do chicken halves for the first cook.

:p:p:p:p
20140221_184324.jpg

20140221_201851.jpg

Thanks! I know it's supposed to be ready to go but I wasn't sure if the experts here have found a way to make it even better

New PBC

There has been a lot of suggestions about how to get the ash out of the can. PBC says dump it .. some try to vacuum it out , but it can be a bit greasy. Some have used cookie sheets on the bottom or have made fancy custom ash catchers. Me ... well I double up aluminum foil and mold it to the bottom being careful not to cover the air vent . When I'm done, it a fold up and discard. Have fun !!!!

I would start by just following the videos that are posted on the website, once you get a good idea how it cooks, try some new ideas......have fun with it!

KC

Agree about watching the PBC videos. A good instant read thermometer will come in handy to know when the meat is done. You will love the PBC.

Oh, I live by my instant read thermometer..... Restaurant business forever and young kids at home. Charcoal is heating up now, got two chickens ready to go on, plus the mentioned fatty to go on after the chickens come off....

Thanks guys!!

Get a Thermoworks TW8060 and a Thermapen - Both are indispensable...