Help a brethren out...

MrDsmoker

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Ok so I've been BBQing for a couple years and am confident in my skills so I'm at the point of what's next. I'm currently cooking on wsm's but I know I want to upgrade smokers (don't we all). The only way I can really justify buying a big smoker is to use to make some money. I've decided that I want to do some farmers markets and other vending however I don't know what cooker to invest in. The two options are LSG standard with a few options or the Lang 84 deluxe. I know I know... Two totally different smokers. One is set it and forget it while the other requires some baby sitting. I think the LSG has great capacity for vending and will be a great cooker for a beginning vender. The Lang has pretty much equal capacity however it can do what I really want to do which is whole hogs! So I'm wrestling back and forth with getting the LSG, making money and save up for my big hog cooker or just go with the Lang find a wood supplier and wing it. What do you guys think?!

I'll only say this. If you are going to be working all day selling at a farmers market, wouldn't it be nice to have a stable pit that you don't have to babysit all night? The LSG cabinet will do that. I have no experience with Lang's, but I thought they were stick burners which need tending...

Many people around here that sell at farmer's markets use UDS with multi-racks, they are easily portable and work well with little attention needed.

However you'll never be able to cook a whole hog in them.

The bottom line is that only you know your needs and what will work for you. Reference the units and compare options, and choose what best fits your needs.