Attempting to restore a Smokey Joe

BeerBQ

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I picked up a Smokey Joe at a yard sale yesterday for $4. It is older and has a wooden handle, but other than that I'm not sure of the age. I straightened out the handle a bit and will sand/replace the wood parts of it. This is my first attempt at a restoration and I have run across a few issues:

1) Rust on the lid where the handle connects. Can I just sand this down and paint with grill paint?

2) Rust/chipping on the rim of the lid and rim of the body. I know not to paint the inside, but is this too close to be painted?

3) The bolts that attach the legs are rusted on. I used WD-40 and tapping both ends to try to loosen it but had no luck. The slot in the head seems to have softened and I've come close to stripping it. Is there any way to get these off? I'd like to take them off to sand and paint some rust where they meet and clean some rust of the legs.

Thanks for any advice.
IMG_0374.jpg

Scrape off the loose rust and treat with Ospho, then spot paint with high temp paint. Paint around the edge is ok.
Try some Kroil on the rusted up screws. If that don't work they will probably have to be ground off with a dremel tool(or similar) then replace with new hardware from your local hardware store.
This will be a nice little project and you will end up with a good cooker, just add a tamale pot to it for a mini smoker.

You should contact Marty Leach on here about a new handle! Nice project .

I don't understand spending time and money on a cooker that only costs $30, new.

Agree with above comments. I wouldn't mess around with those screws either. Cut em off and replace w/new, stainless if possible.

Possible you could somehow soak with Evapo-Rust....stuff works...

http://weberkettleclub.com/blog/2015/07/19/product-review-evapo-rust/

That's a nice old Smokey......handle's still in good shape, or like said, Marty's are top-notch.....