Trying To Figure It Out

gwknowles

Is lookin for wood to cook with.
Reaction score
So, in-case you haven't read my personal intro, I am new to the charcoal smoking game... I just got my first charcoal grill today, a Weber One Touch Gold, and got it built this morning and spent about 4 hrs seasoning starting around 1pm this afternoon. During the seasoning process I attempting my hand at controlling the temperature on the grill, in advance of trying to do low and slow sometime in the future and the best I could seem to do is get it to hoover around 370-380 f. From what I have read, it is best to have low and slow around 225-235 f. I am not sure what I was doing wrong... I tried different variations on both the top vent and the bottom, I know it can be done because I have seen it on youtube, but I guess I just need a bit a guidance from the pros....

It sounds like you had too big of a fire to maintain lower temps. Tell us more about how you set up the charcoal and built the fire.

Also, don't obsess about 225-235. Most of us cook at hotter temps to shorten cooking time and get great results. Every cooker has a temperature where it likes to run. It's easier to cook at that temp instead of fighting the cooker.

It sounds like you had too big of a fire to maintain lower temps. Tell us more about how you set up the charcoal and built the fire.

Also, don't obsess about 225-235. Most of us cook at hotter temps to shorten cooking time and get great results. Every cooker has a temperature where it likes to run. It's easier to cook at that temp instead of fighting the cooker.