Is this another reason to wrap in butcher paper?

If you are like me (you probably aren't), then you actually enjoy reading the original research. So for those few who are interested in the science that originated this article here is the link to it in the International Journal of Electrochemical Science:

http://www.electrochemsci.org/papers/vol7/7054498.pdf

Quick and dirty after reading confirms what other research already shows....high heat acidic environment leaches the most aluminum. So for me its a beer braised low and slow cook once wrapped :wink:. I certainly wouldn't cook in it too often though as there IS an upper limit on how much one can excrete....and this can be diminished in some less than healthy individuals.

Last edited:
Being a chemist, I had to go read what was written and read her publication. One publication, an obscure scientific journal among many other things.

Now the methodology seems to be ok; however, based on the pH (measure of acidity) of the solution or vapor she used, I don't think she is working in realistic conditions. A solution pH of 2.8 seems pretty low....too acidic to consume. Also she adds so much citric acid 10 or 20 g, weigh more than you would be able to extract from a lemon or lime.

I don't know of many people who marinate their meat in such acidic pH and even if you add BBQ sauce or other ingredients, not sure it would bring it down that low. Can it be something of a real effect? Sure, it is possible however, one study is not enough to show it.