Help w/ 1st charcoal kettle grill please?

jjdbike

Full Fledged Farker
Name or Nickame
JD
Hey folks,

I just re-homed my BGE. That left me w/ only my KBQ. It's awesome, but not a grill. I just purchased a used Weber 22" kettle. Doing some clean up today. I ordered a new Premium hinged grate and Charcoal Baskets. I want to use it for a July 4th cookout. Planning on cooking a bunch of wings (several dif flavors) and some raw sausages (again, several diff flavors).

I have a crew coming over and don't want to mess this up. I'm an absolute beginner w/ the Kettle grill. I'd greatly appreciate any help, suggestions and advice to help pull of 1st Kettle cook and shorten my learning curve.

I only have big chunk lump and wood chunks left over from my BGE. Do I need to buy some Briquettes?

I'm thinking I'll fill the two charcoal baskets w/ charcoal. Thinking fill half way w/ charcoal and a chunk of apple wood (one in each basket) and placing them together in the middle to create a hot smokey zone in the middle and cooler zone on the perimeter. Make sense?

The sausages: I have pork cheddar and garlic, chicken mango habanero (both raw), and may pick up some kielbasa (already cooked). At this point I'm planning on pre-brasing the sausages in beer, then onto the kettle for a little smoke and char. I'll slice diagnonally into two bite pieces w/ a couple barbecue sauces, ketchup and mustard on the side.