Char Siu in Progress For "Hit This". Get a Beveridge

SmokinAussie

somebody shut me the fark up.

Batch Image
Batch Image
Name or Nickame
Bill
Brethren....

Melbourne is finally but slowly coming out of this Winter's weather. Now I am very aware I do not have to put up with Snow and Ice, but I've had three failed Summers and miserable as F weather. SO with COVID lockdowns for 2.5 years and this put together I am not just a little resentful.

Apologies for the mini rant...

A Brother of this site posted a thread about Chinese Cuisine and the associated YouTube Channel Made With Lau.

It's a good channel for demystifying some aspects of Cantonese Food. Some of you may know I have strong Asian connections with food. My kids are Eurasian. I spent 4 years living in Hong Kong and at University I worked as a cook in a Cantonese restaurant for the entire time. I learnt a lot.

So to the Char Siu. I've done this a few times on the site and have my own approach but I thought I'd give this recipe from Made With Lau a crack. It joined a few dots for me.

Now if you want to do this easier, just buy this stuff:

P-20230929-105520.jpg

TBH, the Char Siu we made in the restaurant I worked in 30 years ago used the green bottle and an oven. Results are pretty good. Give that a go. Marinade, grill however you want. Baste with honey. That's it.

But here, we're gonna test Lau's interpretation and I can damn well see I'm gonna do a better job because it will be a live fire version like it was intended to be.

Not an oven. :cool:

But that's it for now. The neighbour is telling me the fire is getting lit and there will be beverages.

So go smoke a fatty for a bit.

BRB.

Cheers.

SA

Sounds like a great plan! I made char siu on the grill once a handful of years ago. It was great. I should do it again. :thumb:

The Rest of the Cook....