Smoked Wings on the Masterbuilt 1050

jlrichar

Got Wood.
Name or Nickame
Jason
Here are some smoked wings I did on the Masterbuilt 1050. This is also how to make something that is simple very complicated.

Generally for smoked wings I will cook them when I am cooking something else low and slow. But I am still learning how to use this new cooker, so I decided to try out low and slow with wings. My thinking is that wings are unforgiving of dirty smoke. There is not a ton of meat on the bone, and what is there is very susceptible to added flavors.

If you prefer video, My wife put together one for our blog:

https://thegalavantinggastronome.com/2020/04/18/bbq-smoked-wings/

(This blog is something we are working on while on lockdown, any feedback that is constructive is appreciated.:grin:)

I started with an Oakridge BBQ game changer brine:
picture.php

Just one quart of half strength. I have an instant hot water spigot, so I just use that to dissolve, then bring to 3 cups with room temp water, then add ice to 4 cups:
picture.php

Then I dump into a ziploc with the wings:
picture.php

Into the fridge for a couple of hours:
picture.php

Out of the fridge, rinsed, dried, and back into the fridge while I get the smoker going:
picture.php

picture.php

I got the smoker ready with hickory chunks in the chute with the charcoal, and thick layer in the ash catcher. Started the smoker up, then immediately to 400 for 30 minutes, then down to 170.
When the smoker is ready, I dusted the wings with a little Pappy's Original:
picture.php

Into the smoker @ 170 for a few hours, then 225 for a couple:
picture.php

Then I pulled them to bring smoker up to 350, then back on to get nice color and crisp and then pulled:
picture.php

Actually the 4 on the left were unbrined control wings, just to see if the brining was really required. Two kids, and a wife say brining is required.

Plated with some quick chili beans, and some mustard buttermilk coleslaw:
picture.php