Psychology of Competition BBQ

Chenernator

Full Fledged Farker
I'm a Certified Mental Performance Consultant (CMPC) and an MCBJ. In short, I help people get better at what they love to do so they can thrive in the moments that matter. I've had conversations with some cooks about the psychology of a comp, and would like to hear from more of you.

What mental challenges do you experience in a comp?
What keeps you from performing your best?
What do you wish you had known about the mental side before getting into competition BBQ?
Have you ever considered getting help in this area?
What questions do you have about mental performance (aka sport psychology)?

What mental challenges do you experience in a comp?
What keeps you from performing your best?
What do you wish you had known about the mental side before getting into competition BBQ?
Have you ever considered getting help in this area?
What questions do you have about mental performance (aka sport psychology)?

-None
-Over thinking and going off script.
-Nothing. We all were beginners at one point and someone has to take last place :mod:
-No
-None

-None
-Over thinking and going off script.
-Nothing. We all were beginners at one point and someone has to take last place :mod:
-No
-None

Thanks for being the first to respond. Can you tell me what led to the overthinking and going off script?

What mental challenges do you experience in a comp? Fatigue, lack of sleep and focus
What keeps you from performing your best?Answered above :p
What do you wish you had known about the mental side before getting into competition BBQ?How much the outside elements, lack of sleep, etc effect your cook and schedule
Have you ever considered getting help in this area?I've never heard of Competition BBQers Anonymous but I think I could be the founder or at least a vice president. :laugh: