Pellet Smoker - Why less smoke?

GrapeRadio

Found some matches.
Name or Nickame
8725 Cypress Trl
It seems to me that there’s a general consensus, that pellet smokers produce less intense, smoky foods. What is the technical explanation for this result? My guess is it’s due to pellet smokers working too efficiently. The burning of the pallets too clean. Another theory is that somethings lost in translation. In the production of the pellets that perhaps something is lost? Something is stripped from the wood to make the pellets. An essential part that adds to the smokiness.

I'm no expert however I'm on my second pellet cooker and upwards of 35 other types thru the last 15 years. If I cook a couple a week's on my pellet cooker then cook in the drum it is night and day bolder, much bolder smoke from drum, charcoal chunks etc. Same in reverse if I use my others then go to pellets it's lighter. The ol senses need a minute week to adjust.

Then pellets, while I am pleased with most every pellets I've tried some do produce more smoke and smoke flavors.

On charcoal chunks I usually let my protein chill on the counter top for about an hour or so . With pellets I like to go ahead and get in the pellet cooker up high away from fire pot on smoke or 200 for a couple hours, while protein is refrigerator cold.

I don't use a smoke nor chip tube

My first pellet cooker taught me that there is a slight decrease in smoke flavor for a large increase in convenience.

Pellet cookers are great for what they do, but expecting them to perform like other smokers, may leave you disappointed, at first.

Your taste buds will adjust

It's always been my assumption that the forced air in the pellet system makes them burn more efficiently, with very little smouldering material to make smoke.