THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Vipester531

Found some matches.
I have been tasked with cooking for a family birthday party this weekend and requested to do pork ribs on my 22" WSM. I am still relatively new to the smoker and probably only have about 6 cooks under my belt.

I have a weber rib rack to stand the ribs up but I have only cooked 3 racks in there since they don't really stand straight up. I think I will need 5 or so racks of ribs for the party tho. I haven't used my lower rack as much since there is such a temperature difference between the upper and lower(measured by remote thermometer).

Any tips or suggestions on how to get them to fit better or just general tips for cooking them would be greatly appreciated.

There are a few ways.
Use what you have, rib rack on one grate. A "hump" grate on your second cooking grate. I made mine out of scrap 6" X 9" expanded metal. Allows 2 racks (depending on size/length of your racks). Another out of scrap cooking grate.
Hang them if you are able. Plenty of room.
Use long wooden skewers, I find the wooden ones work better for me. But most any skewers should work. You roll each rack using one or two skewers to hold each rack into a coiled ring. If that makes sense. 5 coils should fit on a 22" in grate with room. You didn't mention the size WSM you have.
There are some cooling racks that have legs that will sit on a 22" grate. Allowing you to fit 2 per rack and rotate as required/if required.

Attachments

Another option is to coil them.

IMG-20130426-201747-577.jpg

I think it would be better with St. Louis cut spares.