One grill/smoker for backyard kitchen?

synfinatic

Wandering around with a bag of matchlight, looking for a match.
Name or Nickame
Aaron
Hi Everyone- I'm new here to the Brethren and found this forum when I was researching a new grill/smoker.

I've been using a 23" Weber charcoal grill + 18" WSM for many years. They work great and I get amazing results with them. If I were buying the WSM again, I'd get the 22" (only the 18" was available when I bought mine). The 23" grill seems fine 95% of the time when I'm doing 2-zone grilling since for larger groups we tend to smoke. Of course I don't really have grill capacity for when we have larger groups over. As a smoker, the WSM could be better- definitely wish there was more insulation so it wasn't impacted by cold nights when I'm doing an 18hr turducken or hot sunny days during the summer.

Wife and I are planning to do a major remodel of our backyard. Would like to have a built in kitchen area and not deal with rolling round or finding a place to store the grills when not in use. For aesthetics, would like something built in if possible rather than on it's own cart. My wife wants a builtin gas grill for quick sears when she's cooking and doesn't want to deal with lighting/waiting for the charcoal. The things we do for love! Hence my goal to try to find one charcoal grill/smoker that can also go into the kitchen since we won't have room for 2 grills + 1 dedicated smoker.

My buddy has a Traeger (well 2, the first one died) and yeah, it's idiot proof when it works, but they seem to have reliability issues over time and can't do a proper sear. Hard pass.

The Weber Summit would probably work, but there's no built in option, so no.