Help! Using WSM as a drum for Pork Butt

SweetHeatBBQnSC

is One Chatty Farker
Name or Nickame
Joedy
Using my WSM as a drum for a Butt and temps are going crazy. Started out at 304* 15 min later 320ish. Now I'm an hour into the cook and its going at 400*. Pretty sure it is from the wood chunks lighting. I'm measuring temp with a wired probe at grate level. Is this good to ride with at this temp? Most people I've seen cook on drums between 300 and 325*. Thanks for the help.

Sent from my SM-A215U using Tapatalk

The only thing I can think of is you didn't shut the bottom vents down soon enough so the temps and fire just went wild. Just might have to spend some time playing with the vents for a while to stabilize it. Good luck!

If it's holding solid at 400*, I might squeeze a bottom damper down some. 350* bothers me not at all with a butt.

It is now up to 460* and I have pulled the butt off for the moment being. Trying to bring it down. I am running the vents just like normal 1 vent with a small opening all others shut down. The wood chunks aren't the problem because they aren't ignited anymore.

I would shut all the vents till the temp drops some and then let it have some air again.

How much unlit coals and how much lit coal did you add to it?

I would shut all the vents till the temp drops some and then let it have some air again.

How much unlit coals and how much lit coal did you add to it?
Trying the vent trick now. I lit like Malcom Reed lights his drum. Put two weber cubes in it instead of a lit chimney. Is this where my error was? I've seen him light his drum that way so thought it would be suffice.

I have lit mine like that and haven't had any major problems, but the drum is a lot more air tight than a WSM. It is clearly getting enough oxygen to spike and sustain the temps, so cutting it back as much as possible and only allowing whatever is necessary is my only advice.