Hello All!

Pog Mo Thoin

Name or Nickame
Pog
Greetings everyone, my name is Martin but I go by Pog Mo Thoin (pronounced Pog Mo Hone). Here is who I am or who I think I am...

Retired police officer (30 years), father was a cop. Don't judge, I had no choice.

Grew up in the San Diego area. Father taught me to smoke fish in our Big Chief in the 70's. We were salt water people so mainly bass, tuna, etc.

Moved from the San Diego area to N. Nevada (Lake Tahoe area) in 1993. Started getting meat happy in the mid-90's and the addiction took off. Its funny, I started brewing beer around the same time period. A head doctor will have to figure out if one addiction led to the other. I no longer brew beer but sure do drink a bunch of it. I still do smoke. Here goes with that:

1. Started with Big Chief. Not sure what happened to it. Used the crap out of it.
2. Next was a Great Outdoor Smokey Mountain (GOSM) gasser. Wore it out and it ended up recycled.
3. Oklahoma Joe seriously modified. Donated to a gentlemen who wanted to learn to smoke.
4. Green Mountain Grill pellet smoker. Used a bunch. Ended up donating to a needy family who still use it today. Yea!
5. Large BGE. Still in the stable. I tend to use it mainly for grilling.
6 & 7. I built two UDS's. I use one on occasion. The other I am going to trade to a relative for a Santa Maria he built. They live near Phoenix so the trade may take a while.
8. Yoder YS640. This has become my go to smoker simply for the ease of operation. You all know about why some people go pellet.
9. Kat Reverse Flow stick burner. I have only had this one for a short period of time. My wood vendor boned me on wood quality so I have not had the ability to really get to know this smoker. She does look nice.
10. I bought a Big Chief a few months ago. Only used once with some salmon.